View My Stats

Sunday, January 14, 2007

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Program at Pittman-Sullivan Park begins at noon, Monday, Jan. 15th

SA Councilwoman Sheila McNeil (photo)

The official program after the 10 a.m. 3 mile March on Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Boulevard, begins at noon at the Pittman-Sullivan Park with introductions of Master of Ceremony Elder Cedric Ford along with Bridgette Smith from KENS-TV, Channel 5.

Rev. I.V. Tolbert, Pastor of Emmanuel AME Church, will offer the invocation followed by the color guard from Sam Houston High School. Elder Dwight Jones, Pastor of Calvary Worship Center will sing the National Anthem and the Pledge of Allegiance will be given by SAISD elementry students & Guardian Angel School.

After America the Beautiful is sung by Terisa Griffin, numerous greetings will be offered to include those by:

Rev. Herman Price Jr., MLK Commission Chair; SA Mayor Phil Hardberger, Former SA Mayor Henry Cisneros, Eastside State Rep Ruth Jones McClendon, County Commissioner Pct. 4 Tommy Adkisson, Congressman Charlie Gonzalez & District 2 Councilwoman Sheila McNeil.

Bishop James W.E. Dixon will serve as the guest speaker for the 20th Annual Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. March. Dixon is the Pastor of the Community of Faith Church from Houston.

No comments: