View My Stats

Monday, January 25, 2016

Stonewall Democrats of SA endorse the following candidates, 1-23

The Stonewall Democrats of San Antonio spent a good part of Sunday, January 24 listening to over 50 candidates ask for the group’s endorsement for the March 1 Democratic primary.

The presidential endorsement went to Hillary Clinton.

Over 80 candidates were invited to participate. In the end, a little over 50 completed questionnaires and spoke at the forum.

There were about 40 Stonewall members present at the closed-door endorsement portion of the meeting.

In the race for State Senator District 26, Stonewall endorsed incumbent Jose Menendez who is being challenged by former State Rep. Trey Martinez Fisher.

The endorsement for State Representative, District 116, went to Martin Golando who is running against Bexar County Democratic Party secretary Diane Arevalo and former LGBT Chamber of Commerce president and business owner Ruby Resendez.

In the contest for Bexar County Sheriff, Stonewall endorsed former SAPD spokesman Javier Salazar.

Following is the complete list of Stonewall endorsements
President of the United States
Hillary Clinton
U.S. Representative, District 20
Joaquin Castro
U.S. Representative, District 21
No Endorsement
U.S. Representative, District 23
Pete Gallego
U.S. Representative, District 28
No Endorsement
U.S. Representative, District 35
Lloyd Doggett
Railroad Commissioner
No Endorsement
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 3
No Endorsement
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 5
Dori Contreras Garza
Justice, Supreme Court, Place 9
Savannah Robinson
Judge. Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3
No Endorsement
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 5
No Endorsement
Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 6
No Endorsement
Member, State Board of Education, District 5
Rebecca Bell-Metereau
State Senator, District 19
No Endorsement
State Senator, District 26
Jose Menendez
State Representative, District 116
Martin Golando
State Representative, District 117
Philip Cortez
State Representative, District 118
Gabe Farias
State Representative, District 119
Roland Gutierrez
State Representative, District 120
Barbara Gervin-Hawkins
State Representative, District 123
Diego Bernal
State Representative, District 124
Ina Minjarez
State Representative, District 125
Justin Rodriguez

Irene Rios
Justice, 4th Court of Appeals, Place 6
Michael Mery
District Judge, 37th Judicial District
Antonia “Toni” Arteaga
District Judge, 57th Judicial District
David A. Canales
District Judge, 73rd Judicial District
Norma Gonzales
District Judge, 131st Judicial District
Laura Salinas
District Judge, 166th Judicial District
Catherine Torres-Stahl
District Judge, 175th Judicial District
Ron Rangel
District Judge, 379th Judicial District
Carlos Quezada
District Judge, 386th Judicial District
Ray Olivarri
District Judge, 399th Judicial District
Karen Pozza
District Judge, 407th Judicial District
Kristal Cordova Thomson
District Judge, 408th Judicial District
Rosie Alvarado

District Judge,438th Judicial District
Caitlin Howell
Judge, County Court-At-Law No. 5
Javier Salazar
Albert Uresti
Tax Assessor-Collector
Sergio “Chico” Rodriguez
County Commissioner, Pct. 1
Brandon J. Johnson
County Commissioner, Pct. 3
Roberto “Robbie” Vazquez
Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2, Place 1
Constable, Pct. 1
No Endorsement
Constable, Pct. 2
Dan S. Vela

Constable, Pct. 3
No Endorsement
Robert “Mike” Blount
Constable, Pct. 4
Manuel Medina
Bexar County Democratic Party Chair

No comments: