View My Stats

Tuesday, August 02, 2016

Laura Thompson wins special election runoff for St. Rep. 120, 8-2

Independent Laura Thompson has won the special election runoff to temporarily fill the Texas House seat of former state Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon, D-San Antonio. 

Thompson defeated Democrat Lou Miller by 50 votes, 635 to 585 in unofficial returns. Thompson will serve through the rest of the year before McClendon's permanent successor — to be elected in November — takes over ahead of the 2017 session. 

Texas Tribune
By Patrick Svitek

No comments: